For this I used a well known racing game hud and attempted to recreate it in photoshop. It was quite surprising how much there actually was to recreate. I think thisd was helpful as it really made me think what I would add myself. I started off by downloading a Mario themed font and adding the lap counter, time and position. However, for the position counter I added a 3d text from photoshops 3d mode, I made sure to add the same depth as the original text. The last mario kart themed text I added was the position of each character and made sure to keep it at the front of the layers so nothing was infront.  I changed the colour of the position counters to match woth the players position. Next I downloaded a digital text and creeated the speed [43] and for the “mph” I just used a basic bold font. For all the used text  apart from the lap counter I used a gradient overlay of orange and yellow and a black stroke. For the lap counter I used a gradient overlay aswell but with a combination of greens and a black stroke aswell.

For the sort of speed gauge they have I created curved rectangles and used it to match the originial length and shape. I used a colour picker to get the origianl colours for the fill and once again added a black stroke. Next was the rectangles in which the characters would be placed on. For that I once again used the rounded rectangle and created a big rectangle and a small one for each position. I used a blue to match the colour used originally and used a certain colour stroke depending on what position they were.

For the characters I took some png images from the web and gave them a pixel effect so they matched with the games hud. I made sure to remove their background and only keep the top half in the box to make it look more proffesional. Last was the lap and for this I made a path around the original lap and then made it a selection and filled it with a grey and gave it a black stroke.

ppppempty