This is my final design for my HUD which I made in photoshop. Overall I think it turned out quite well however, after actually digitally designing it there would be a few things that I probably would’ve changed.

I am still happy with the placement and size of the HUD items. I feel that It allows a clear view of the actual race whilst also allowing the player to check the HUD without losing track of things.

The first thing would be the font as I feel its to basic. If I were to change it I would’ve given it a more sleek and maybe more digital feel to match with the HUD/game a bit more. However I still think bold and simple is good for making it stand out and keeping it clear which is important in a racing game where you’re not fully focused on the HUD.

I like how the map looks as it looks professional and is clear to see the location of the player. I also like the colours picked as it doesn’t distract the player however, with a brief look it can easily be read.

The colour and size of the positions of the teams stand out the most which I think is important as the game itself focuses on teamwork and therefore I think its important part of the game. With the background used I think the player can perceive the positions of the teams by using the corner of the eye.

The speedometer looks professional and doesn’t affect the players vision much as to me its not as important to the player. To me I feel that it has to be a part of the HUD though to make the game look realistic.

The traffic light does it job and indicates clearly when the racer has to start, It also looks clean and bold.

Last is the boost scale which is an important feature in the game and therefore I placed it directly underneath the car making it easy to check.

hud